Jesus and McDonalds

15 Sep

As I write this, the news is on and they are reporting that Orlando, Florida is the fast food capital of the world.

I am not at all surprised. My wife and I spent our honeymoon in Orlando. It is the home of Disneyworld, the Universal Parks, and other venues of family entertainment. Nobody has time for a sit down meal and they are certainly not going to cook at their resort rooms.

So it’s off to the home of the quarter pounder they go.

I love fast food. One of my favorite things to do is take my laptop, go to my local McDonalds and work on sermons while munching down on a Big Mac or scarfing down some fries.

But eventually, these things take their toll.

Eventually, my waist line begins to expand (even more than it already has) . Eventually that leads to other health issues. As good as that stuff may look and taste, the long term effects can be life threatening.

Hmmm… there is a spiritual parallel there.

Sin looks good. It looks appetizing. Let’s be honest.. we love to take part in it. It can be one of our favorite things to do.

But eventually, it takes it’s toll.

Our seperation from God begins to expand (even more than it already has). Eventually that leads to relationship issues (with people and God). As good as that stuff may appear to be, the long term effects can be eternally threatening.

In my dietary habits, I have to make a conscioius decision to walk away from the Big Mac and walk to the salad bar.

In my spiritual life, I must resist Satan, flee, and run to Jesus.

In neither case, is it easy.

But it’s worth it!

Leave a Reply

