On My Tenth Anniversary as Pastor

15 Sep

Last Sunday marked my 10th anniversary as Pastor of FBC, Lillian. As one would expect, milestones like this give one the opportunity to reflect.

When I first became Pastor, different circumstances (some of my own making) almost led to my resignation. While I am sure that FBC could have made it (and may have even done better) with a different Pastor, I am so glad God let me stay.

I would have missed so much.

I would have missed the many times I got to be in the baptistry and watch as someone gave a public commitment to their new life in Christ. Nothing is more thrilling for me than to see God’s work of redemption in action!

I would have missed the chili cookoff event we have every October. Ten years and I have only won one time. But the fun that comes out of preparing and “ribbing” the competition is a blast. And when you get beat by a 10 year old, well, that’s humbling.

I would have missed the times with the Lillian Fire Department. That is one of the finest groups of men and women with which I have ever been associated. They are willing to put themselves out every day to keep our county safe. I am so honored to have even had a small part in that.

I would have missed the thrill of seeing a couple come together in marriage, the opportunity to be a comfort to someone losing a loved one, the honor of being with a couple as they welcomed their first child in the world.

I would have missed the chance to hear a senior adult say “thanks for drawing me closer to God.”

I would have missed the many Vacation Bible Schools and the countless pies in the face I received as a reward to someone for high attendance.

I would have missed so much.

But praise God I didn’t have to. It has been one of the greatest joys of my life to pastor this church.

And the best may be yet to come!

Leave a Reply

