A VERY IMPORTANT PERSONAL PLEA

31 Dec

Dear Friends and Family,

I am one of the few people who try to make New Years Resolutions every year. Sadly, most of the time I don’t reach the goals I set for myself. But this year needs to be different. In fact, it is critical that it be different. Let me explain:

My life as a Christian husband, father, and pastor over the last 10 years has been a journey of incredible growth. I constantly find myself being convicted by the Holy Spirit about some inconsistency in my life. I am ashamed to tell you that most of the time, situations like this fall into a very unfortunate pattern. I will become convicted, make a half hearted effort, and then something will happen that makes me realize that I better do something now or lose someone or something that I hold very valuable.

It was that way with the stewardship of my personal finances. It was that way with the way I communicated with my wife. In each case, I realized that if I did not line this area more up with God’s will, then I could lose the way of life with which God had blessed me.

Now, I face another situation. Actually, I’ve been dealing with it for close to 20 years. I have made promises, commitments, etc. but all with the same half-hearted effort.

I am speaking of my weight. At present, I am approximately 170 pounds overweight. I have said time and time again that I was going to lose it. I have known that it was a sin to be this heavy and not be a good steward of this body. I have known that I was not treating it as God’s temple. But I have never really tried like I should have.

And I want to do something about it… and I want to do it NOW!

I want to do it before something drastic happens… because that something drastic could be death!

Don’t get me wrong! I am not afraid of dying. I have a relationship with Jesus Christ. My name is in the Lamb’s Book of Life.

Here is what I don’t want.

I don’t want Danna to be a widow before she’s 40. I don’t want Destiny to have to hear stories about her Daddy because she was too young to form any real memories of him. I don’t want Cheyenne on the day of her wedding wishing I was there.

But if I don’t do something, all that is going to happen.

No, I haven’t been to the doctor .. but I know what they’d tell me. And no, I am not some kind of morbid fatalist. But the reality is that I am over 40, way overweight, hyper in personality, and there is nothing in my life to rule out the possibility of dying of a heart attack.

Something has to change… NOW!

So what am I going to do?

Most of what I am about to tell you, some have already heard before. However, I am hoping you hear the sense of urgency in what I am telling you now.

I am going to taper off of Dr. Peppers. I am not saying I won’t have one now and then but it needs to be the exception rather than the norm. Praise God they make Dr. Pepper TEN now. That stuff rocks!

I am going to eat healthier. I am going to use my membership at the gym. I am going to write down everything I eat.

Why am I telling all of you?

Because if I have figured out nothing else recently, it is this: I cannot do this on my own. Here is how you can help:

Don’t bring me free Dr. Peppers! If you put them in front of me, I will drink them!

If you are one who likes to invite me over for dinner, please don’t say “Hey, Rick! Come on over! I made you fried blob of grease with a side of lard!” I cannot demand anything of you but if possible, please cook heart healthy dishes.

If you see me at a meeting where dinner is served or are out to lunch with me, hold me accountable on what I eat. I promise not to get mad at you as long as you don’t do it in a way that is hurtful or embarrassing.

Church members, if I am at the gym sometimes during the day, please do not make snide remarks about how much free time your Pastor must have. I am constantly on my phone while on the treadmill or reading material for an upcoming lesson or sermon. I make up that time by being in the office or on the field or in sermon prep at the house until midnight most nights. You would rather have a live Pastor than a dead one.

Maybe you’re reading this and you are not anywhere near Lillian, Texas. An email or phone call of support would always be appreciated.

And please, no fat jokes! They do nothing but hurt and they won’t help at all.

Above all, I need prayer. I do not wish to dramatize this but I consider this the most critical task I have taken on in a long time. I need not only your accountability but God’s constant still small voice urging me forward.

Am I saying that you are responsible for my weight loss? Far from it! The responsibility is mine and mine alone.

All l am asking for is your help!

Thank you in advance and God bless you!

2 Responses to “A VERY IMPORTANT PERSONAL PLEA”

  1. Leslie Jett January 2, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    Rick,
    I am sorry we did not get our families together during our holiday break. I will pray for you a healthier lifestyle so that you can reach your goals. My husband struggles with this as well. Keep me posted on your progress. And, just take it a small step at a time. Day by day.
    Leslie

  2. Steve Rohlfing January 18, 2012 at 4:11 am #

    Rick.
    I’m with you on this. Been watching through FB. I’ll be faithful to keep you in prayer.
    Steve

Leave a comment