WAKING UP

17 Jan

It’s 4:30 in the morning! My mind and body are in the glorious REM stage. I do not plan on being up for a few more hours. My pillowtop mattress feels so good. The sleep is blissful.

And then….

TAP! TAP! TAP!

This sound has become all too familiar. It’s my precious five year old. For some reason, this child rarely sleeps a full night. The slightest sound wakes her up. Any other time of the day, she wants Mommy. But in the wee hours of the morning, it is Daddy she seeks.

We walk into her bedroom. I tuck her in. I am hoping that she will fall back asleep in just minutes. But apparently that is a pipe dream. All of a sudden, she pops up and says “Daddy, you didn’t get to play at all with me yesterday. Let’s play dolls!”

I know what you’re thinking. And no, I didn’t play dolls with her!

But it got me to thinking of the many times God has woke me up in the middle of the night to pray. Perhaps He does that because I have not given Him much time in the morning. Perhaps it’s because I put everything else in priority over Him.

And this is His way of saying “Hey, let’s talk!”

I must remember to make more time for Him. Just like I need to remember to make time for little Destiny.

Leave a Reply

