LOVE

24 Aug

The Apostle Paul said in I Corinthians 13 that one of the greatest attributes

of a Christian was love.

 

Jesus said that people would know we belong to Him if we show love one to

another.

 

John said in his first epistle that “He that loves is born of God. He that

does not love does not know God.” (I John 4:7-8)

 

Yet, in my 34 years as a Christian, I have found that this quality is one of

the hardest for Christians to exhibit.

 

We gossip about each other.

 

We look down our noses at the lost.

 

We are so quick to judge.

 

Yet if a poll was taken of Christians, most of us would agree that it is

extremely important for believers to exhibit a Christlike love.

 

So why don’t we do it?

 

I became convicted about this a few years back and am trying very hard to

something about it in my own life. (Those who know me well can tell you that

I don’t always succeed but I do hope they’ll also say that I try.)

 

One thing I’ve learned is to take the WWJD (What Would Jesus Do?) motto as

something literal instead of just a catchy slogan. How would Jesus see this

person? How would Jesus react to that comment?

 

The answer is always that He would react with love.

 

So that’s what I try to do. I don’t always succeed. Sometimes I fall really

hard.

 

But you know what? I always feel closer to Jesus and better about myself when

I do it successfully.

 

Wouldn’t the world be a much better place if we all mastered the art of

exhibiting a Christlike love?

 

Will you give it a try?

Leave a Reply

