Calling for a return to Godly marriage.

28 Feb

I’ve been lookin’ at people
And how they change with the times
And lately  all I’ve been seein’ are people
Throwin’ love away and losing their  minds

I used to love that song. I guess I still do. Now, as a Christian, I know that “forever” is eternity and that it exists only in Heaven where those who are believers can spend forever with Jesus Christ.

But I also believe that marriage was created to be an earthly picture of a Heavenly truth. I believe that families are supposed to operate in a way that reflects the Glory of the Lord. I believe that marriage was meant to last literally “until death do us part.”

Maybe it’s me who’s gone crazy
‘Cause I can’t understand  why
All these lovers keep hurtin’ each other
When love is so hard to come  by

Danna and I have spent a lot of time lately with people who don’t seem to understand that marriage is a sacred awesome thing.  In fact, they seem willing to throw it away at a moments notice. They seem willing to destroy it in favor of their own personal gain. They don’t care who gets hurt, even if its children that will never really get over the ordeal.

So what’s the glory in living?
Doesn’t anybody ever stay together anymore?
And if love never lasts forever
Tell me what’s forever  for?

I’ve been listenin’ to people
And they say love is the key
And  it’s not my way to let them lead me astray
It’s only that I want to believe

I see  love-hungry people
Tryin’ their best to survive
While in their hands is a  dying romance
And they’re not even tryin’ to keep it alive

I pray for our churches to rise up and counsel against divorce. I pray for husbands to “man up” and recognize that their sole job is to please God by making sure put the needs of their wives and children above their own.

I pray for wives to recognize that their worth lies in being a godly wife and mother and no greater glory could ever be bestowed upon them to have their husband brag on them and their children “rise up and call her blessed.”

So what’s  the glory in living?
Doesn’t anybody ever stay together anymore?
And if  love never lasts forever
Tell me what’s forever for?

So what’s the  glory in living?
Doesn’t anybody ever stay together anymore?
And if love  never lasts forever
Tell me what’s forever for?

I pray that Christians begin recognizing again that marriage is a holy institution.

Leave a Reply

