Dear Ma

9 Oct

Dear Ma,

I miss you. It has been nearly six years since you left us for your home in Heaven. I well remember the day I got the call from Mom telling me that her mother, my grandmother, was now gone from our sight. I remember holding onto my wife and crying. For all of my growing up years, you had been larger than life. Oh, you had your times of ill health. But I never worried about it taking you.  I just kind of felt like you would always be here.

You taught me much just by how you lived. For you, family was everything. You would make calls and check on people that we only saw once a year at family reunions (if we came to them). You remembered birthdays, anniversaries, everything. And everybody heard from you buy a card, letter, or phone call. If you had ever owned a computer, I can imagine you would have burned up the email system.

I find it is something missing in my life. In fact, I have to tell you I’m kind of ashamed of myself. I have cousins that I was close to growing up that I honestly have not had a serious conversation with in years. Their sons and daughters are growing up, attending college, getting married, and they don’t know my family and I don’t know theirs. I can say that it is a two-way street but I could have learned from your example initiate contact. I know that it is not too late. And my resolution for 2015 is to try to bridge that gap . I learned from you. You never let people get out of your life. And I’m sorry that I did.

You and I would definitely disagree on the Baptist “political spectrum.” I still get email from “the other side” as a result of your attempts to “convert” me. I cannot bring myself to cancel it. I accept it every time in honor of you. To this day, I do not agree with you. But I respect your beliefs.

The same can be true for national politics. You voted always of the Democratic candidate for as long as I can remember. I, of course, did not. I remember getting literature from you trying to show me “the other side”. Nice try but it never worked.

But you were never hateful about it. You never labeled me because I stood for some things and against others. You knew I loved the Lord just the same as I knew you did. We disagreed on politics, styles of music in the church, styles of preaching… And yet still loved each other. The world could learn much from our relationship. In a world of labeling and stereotyping, I am glad I have your example to look to when running into disagreements with others.

And forgiveness? Wow, I hope I’ve followed half that example. At one time or another, we probably all hurt you with words and actions (in our immaturity and self centeredness). You would be mad… No question about that. But when we finally came to our senses and. Apologized, forgiveness was instant. Nobody had to jump through hoops. You just came and forgot,

In short, if I’ve never told you, you left a legacy. One that will live on for years to come.

See you in Glory someday,

One Response to “Dear Ma”

  1. Carole Madry October 9, 2014 at 9:14 pm #

    I hope Ma reads this in Heaven!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

