TRUST IN GOD

30 Nov

Proverbs 3:5-6

 Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.

Have you ever noticed who gets to drive whenever Danna and I go someplace? Here is a hint: I am never in the drivers seat!  Never!

The main reason is because I’m not that great of a driver. Back in the day, I had quite a few tickets and had decided I wasn’t going to have anymore. My obvious defense mechanism was to drive below the speed limit and if you’re ever behind me, you know that I am pretty faithful at doing that.  Destinie Jones reminded me the other day that you CAN get a ticket for going too slow.

If you know my wife (or even if you know me and just consider the fact that she IS my wife), then you know she is an incredibly patient woman. But she is not very patient when I am behind the wheel.

So she drives.

Now, for a man, that is very difficult. Because we like to be in charge. Our gender is known for liking to be in the drivers seat. For wanting to be in control.

And even though, I have just acknowledged that she is the better driver, I will tell you that when I am in the passengers side, I am really good at telling her how to do it better.

Oh, I might not say a word (sometimes I do) but most of the time, I am grabbing the sissy bar right about the passenger side window, tapping on an emergency brake, or notifying her with hand signals that it’s time to turn.

Even though things are really out of my hands, I just can’t totally give up control.

We want so say (and some of you are, that this is a male thing) but the truth is one of the most difficult thing for any of us to do is to give up control to someone else and depend totally on that person to lead and guide us. The Word of God lets us know that we need to learn.

 Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.

We need to learn to wait on Him and to trust Him. But at times it isn’t the most desirable thing to do, because waiting involves trusting.  And we all have trust issues to some degree. We live in a society that tells us to not be too trusting. In fact, it encourages just the opposite, doesn’t it? I mean, we have our lives guarded like Fort Knox with all the identity theft stuff.  Everything is sacred and nothing is ever given out. Nothing.  For us to put total control in the hands of anyone is highly unlikely. We are even scared to take our car to a mechanic unless we have signed a proper waiver, have a warranty, or know a good lawyer.

Trust is just not something that comes easily.  For any of us.

Oh, we might trust a little. But we WILL NOT trust completely.

I don’t know how many times I’ve been told “Sorry, Rick, I trust you completely but that’s one thing I won’t trust anyone with….”

So you don’t completely trust.

Sometimes it’s healthy.

I mean, after all, you wouldn’t give out your social security number or your credit card number to most people if any.

And that’s a good thing.

But there are many other issues where we don’t trust people completely.  It would be fair to say that except to maybe our most intimate partners, we don’t offer complete trust.

But yet this scripture doesn’t just demand partial trust or trust in some areas when it comes to God.

Let’s look at it again:

 Trust in the Lord with all your heart
And do not lean on your own understanding.
 In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He will make your paths straight.

Why should I trust Him? Some of us have even serious trust issues when it comes to God.

“Why should I trust Him?  He took my loved one!  Why should I trust Him? He didn’t save my marriage? Why should I trust Him?  My electricity got turned off!”

Yet, it is not a cliché to say that God loves you. It is not just some old adage to say that He cares for you. It is not just some wives tale to say that He only wants the best for you.

I could go with the usual preacher mode and quote scripture to you to prove my point. I could tell you Jeremiah 29:11. I could tell you  how you are of more value than the sparrows to Him according to Matthew 10:31.

But here is the thing: If you’re having a hard time trusting God, you’re having a hard time trusting His Word.  And it puts me as a preacher in a real dilemma.

See, I believe that the Word of God is the ultimate authority. That it is true from beginning to end. To continue further, we have to establish that.

And you may disagree with me but follow me.  If that is not your authority, then what is?  Your heart? You and I both know that the heart is deceptive. I remember things in my life that I just had to have but then later, I look back and say “why did I even want that?”   For many kids in my day, it was parachute pants… those were the coolest, right?   Not for me, I was conservative even back then and stuck to my blue jeans and boots. But the kids who wore those back then? They are all 40 and older. See if  they will wear them now. No way! Why? Because their desire changed. Their heart changed.

But the Word of God has never changed. It has stood the test of time and is still the same today as it was when it was first written. What it said years ago, it still says. Many have tried to discredit it but have not been able to do so. It is still the ultimate bestseller.

No other book can claim that. No other piece of literature has ever had the same credibility.

Now, this isn’t a sermon on the authority of scripture.  But as I explain to you why you should trust God completely and totally in all things, I am going to use the Bible.   And so for that reason, it is necessary for everyone to understand that the Bible is not just an authority. It is THE authority.

So here are four reasons why you should trust him.

He’s Conscious- This means He’s aware. The word of God say’s in Matt 6:8 that our Heavenly Father knows what things we have need of even before we ask Him. Isn’t it good to know that we have a God that is omniscient or all knowing? That’s the first reason why you should trust Him, because He already knows everything about you. He knows the things about you that you don’t even know about yourself.  He sees the parts of you that you keep hidden from everyone else. And yet, He still loves you. This blows my mind!

We often think of God as some far off creature managing us from some control booth. But the truth is that He is right here in our presence and you are not some name on a list. He knows everything about you. He loves you anyway and He’s aware of you.

He’s Concerned- 1 Peter 5:7 says cast, which means to throw, your cares, anxieties and worries on Him because He cares about you. Yes He cares about you! Whatever concerns you concerns Him. So whenever you’re faced with problems, situations and obstacles that seem insurmountable just throw them on Him, He can handle them.

Oftentimes, I hear people afraid to share a prayer concern. They just think that the concern they are dealing with is so trivial.  They think that God has bigger things to deal with.

But go back to the fact that you are of more value than the sparrows to Him. He loves you.  And every time you hurt, He hurts. Yes, He sees the end result. He sees the bigger picture. He knows that it’s all going to be okay. He sees the light while we’re still in the dark.

But He never trivializes what we are feeling.

He is always concerned.

He’s Consistent- This means He’s faithful and you can also count on Him and trust Him to do exactly what He say’s He will do every single time, even if others let you down and or found to be unreliable I always tell people I’m going to let you down. I am human. I am full of sin. I am unreliable.  I am going to make decisions sometimes in a moment of weakness based on my own selfish desires and not what God has designed.

I will let you down.

Family will let you down.

Churches will let you down.

But God will never let you down.

You can always rely on Him.

1 Corinthians 1:9 say’s that God is faithful. So even we we are unfaithful to God, God remains faithful to us.

Isn’t that awesome?  I am so frequently inconsistent with Him but He is always consistent with me.

And finally, He’s Capable.

Ephesians 3:20 say’s that God is able to do exceeding, abundantly above all that we could ask or think according to the power that He works in us. This would suggest to us that nothing is too hard for God. Even if He chooses not to grant our request, He’s still capable of supplying our every need.

Daniel 3:17-18 tells the story of the three Hebrew children facing the fiery furnace. The king told them that all they had to do is bow down to a gold image and they would not be thrown in the fiery pit.

What was their answer?

17 If it be so, our God whom we serve is able to deliver us from the furnace of blazing fire; and He will deliver us out of your hand, O king. 18 But even if He does not, let it be known to you, O king, that we are not going to serve your gods or worship the golden image that you have set up

Now, the ultimate end of the story is that they were delivered from the pit. AFTER they were thrown in.

I bet that the three Hebrew children would have loved if God had delivered before. Nobody relishes the idea of going into fire. Nobody.

But sometimes God wants to take us through the fire so He can help develop our character, make us stronger. It is a spoiled brat who never has to endure hardship. God sometimes takes us through it so that we can be stronger on the other side. Further, when He allows us to get ourselves into an impossible situation and then delivers us, it shows how awesome He is. It shows that He is capable.

What’s the answer to those issues that plague you day after day?

TRUST IN GOD

What’s the answer to those marital woes that won’t seem to go away?

TRUST IN GOD

What’s the answer to issues that are often unfortunately faced inside a church congregation?

TRUST IN GOD

What about that boy in class or that teacher who doesn’t seem to give you a break?

TRUST IN GOD

What about those parents that never understand you?

TRUST IN GOD

What about our culture, our declining morality, our corrupt government?

TRUST IN GOD!

Proverbs 3:-6proverbs

Leave a Reply

